logo
College of the
Redwoods
50th logo
Business Technology

\ Home \ Departments \ Business Technology

hero
About the Department

Move up the career ladder by learning everything it takes to become successful in the business world.

College of the Redwoods offers all types of Business related classes.

Want to become more proficient with a computer? Try one of our Business Technology classes, they are a great addition to any resume. Maybe numbers and analyzing cost interests you, take either the beginning or intermediate bookkeeping and/or accounting classes. Are you curious about finances and the stock market? With our economics classes you can get a new view on life. For those of you interested in becoming an entrepreneur, our Business faculty work with local business leaders to provide opportunities that are on the cutting-edge.

Business Office Technology Program Brochure (PDF)

Business Technology

This degree will prepare individuals for office technology/support positions in both private and public agencies. Upon completion, students could become: software consultants, PC specialists, training and technology coordinators, computer lab assistants, help desk operators, administrative assistants, administrative secretaries, or executive secretaries.

Training includes how to operate application software used in the business world, with an emphasis on word processing, spreadsheets, database management, business graphics, communication, organization, time management, and team building skills. For optimum results, students should have the ability to keyboard by touch.

The faculty list below lists links to faculty webpages and email.
NameEMail
Anderson, Sidsid-anderson@redwoods.edu
Byrne, Dovedove-byrne@redwoods.edu
Dennis, Michaelmichael-dennis@redwoods.edu
Gaines, Chrischris-gaines@redwoods.edu
Jaffari, Barbarabarbara-jaffari@redwoods.edu
Johnson, Bernadettebernadette-johnson@redwoods.edu
Rowan, Sandrasandra-rowan@redwoods.edu
Wolfsen, Lauralaura-wolfsen@redwoods.edu
Update

There have been some changes to course names in CIS and BUS. Many of the courses that focus on computer applications previously listed under BUS and CIS have been changed to BT (Business Office Technology). Examples: If you are looking for CIS 50 - Database Applications, the course name has been changed to BT 50. If you are looking for BUS 17 - Word Processing II, the course name has been changed to BT 17. If you are looking for BUS 11 - Keyboarding I, the course name has been changed to BT 111.

Division Information

Dean : Marla Gleave

Assistant : Johanna Helzer

Phone : 707-476-4341

Email : johanna-helzer@redwoods.edu

Home : Career and Technical Education Division